The art of keeping up disappearances.

Imagine I am not bitten down fingernails–
imagine I am not brown eyes, broken bones,

or ears. Imagine I am not a knot
in the tail of a kite.

Imagine I am not jeans, old gray Converse,
a sweatshirt. Imagine I am not language.

Imagine I am not the great big roots
of an old oak tree & summertime.

Imagine I am not making that grossed out
face at the doctor’s office. Imagine

I am not steel. Imagine I am not gelid.
Imagine my skin is not raw.

Imagine I am not a question. Imagine
I am not slanted rain.

Imagine I am not laughter, lungs,
or burnt marinara sauce.

Imagine I am not the text on your phone.
Imagine I am not a success or a disappointment.

Imagine I am not a lemon. Imagine I am not
asleep on your couch. Imagine I am not a book.

Imagine I am not OCD. Imagine I am not repetition.
Imagine I am not repetition.

Imagine everything you don’t know about me &
everything you do.

Poem 27 of 30

2 thoughts on “The art of keeping up disappearances.

Share Your Thoughts

